Annual General Meeting

AGMs are business meetings where the ONS council informs the membership about the organization. It is here that officers and council members are elected. This year the AGM also featured a numismatic talk.

Past meetings

2021 Annual General Meeting (AGM)

The 2021 ONS AGM took place on Saturday, October 30, 2021.

  • Phil Slavin spoke on “What Central Asian numismatics (when combined with archaeological and textual evidence) can teach us about the ‘Fourteenth Century Crisis’ in the Mongol Empire(s)”

Agenda for Annual General Meeting at the British Museum on Saturday 29 September 2018

1 Welcome and timetable for the day
2 Minutes of AGM 2016
3 Council’s report – Secretary General
4 Treasurer’s report - Treasurer
5 Election of officers and council members as follows

Office Name
Secretary General Paul Stevens
Deputy Secretary-General Stan Goron
Editor of the Journal Karan Singh
Treasurer Ben Bream
Secretary: Paramdip Khera
Membership Secretary Barbara Mears
Publication Secretary Shailendra Bhandare
Council members Robert Bracey
David Hartill
Terry Hayes
Howard Simmons
Joe Cribb
South Asia Section Secretary Mohit Kapoor
North America Section Secretary Pankaj Tandon
UK and Eire Section Secretary Paramdip Khera
Europe Section Secretary Jan Lingen
Pakistan Section Secretary Shafqat Mirza
General Section Secretary Graham Byfield


Annual General Meeting held 12 November 2016 at the Department of Coins and Medals in the British Museum.

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held at 11am on Saturday 12th November 2016 at the Department of Coins and Medals in the British Museum.

Present: Joe Cribb (in the Chair), Robert Bracey, Paramdip Khera, Stan Goron, Ben Bream, Barbara Mears, David Hartill, Karan Singh, Bryan Birch, Keith Turner, Paul Lewis, Shankar K Bose, Shakti Sharma, Ashok Chana, Suresh Sharma, Michael Mitchiner, Helen Wang, Yasuyo Ohtsuka (guest). Sixteen members were present for the meeting.

  1. Minutes of the last AGM

It was agreed that the minutes of the AGM meeting, on Saturday 21st November 2015 at the Ashmolean Museum in Oxford, were a true record of the last meeting.

  1. Apologies

Paul Stevens, Peter Smith and Howard and Frances Simmons sent their apologies.

  1. Council’s 2016 report

Joe Cribb presented a report on the Society’s activities in the last year. A copy of the AGM 2016 annual report is attached to these minutes.

  1. Treasurer’s report

Ben Bream reported that this year’s income was level. There is no need to increase subscriptions.

  1. Election of officers and council members

Paramdip Khera is taking over from Peter Smith as the new UK and Eire Section Secretary. Paul Stevens is taking over from Bob Senior as General Section Secretary.

Shailendra Bhandare is the new Publication Secretary. Karan Singh and Terry Hayes are welcomed as council members. All were elected unanimously by the meeting.

  1. AOB

It was agreed at the meeting for Peter Smith to become an honorary member of the ONS to honour him for his service over the years.

The council and members were informed that Frances Simmons would not be speaking at the section meeting due to unforeseen circumstances.

As there was no further formal business the meeting was closed.

Oriental Numismatic Society AGM annual report 2016

3 more issues of JONS nos 225–7 published and distributed. Due to the change of editor the issues are a little behind schedule, but will catch up with the next issue, which is currently in its final stages of production. We thank our editor Robert Bracey for his handling of the transfer and repeat his call for support in the editing process.

Thanks to the efforts of our European Section Secretary the digitisation of back copies of the journal has been completed so they can be made available on the web. We expect this project to be completed early next year, so that all back copies of the journal, apart from the last three years to be accessible on the Society’s website.

South Asia Section

Secretary: Mahesh A. Kalra. 253 members

3 meetings during the year in Nasik (January), Mumbai (January) and Bangalore (February) and stalls at various coin fairs.

North America Section

Secretary: Pankaj Tandon. 124 members

Annual meeting in New York on 10 January.

UK and Eire Section

New Regional Secretary: Paramdip Khera. 95 members

3 meetings during year, 2 in London (February and November), 1 in Oxford (May)

Europe Section

Secretary: Jan Lingen. 225 members

Regular meetings were held in Tübingen (7-8 May, 2016), Leiden (15 Oct. 2016) and Cologne (14 Nov. 2015), besides ONS promotion stands, with small exhibitions, were set-up at some of the major coin fairs in the Netherlands (2) and Belgium (1).

Members attended Second International Conference on Oriental Numismatics (ICON II) from 26 - 29th September 2016, at the State Hermitage Museum at St. Petersburg.

Pakistan Section

Secretary: Shafqat Mirza. 41 members

Annual Meeting in Islamabad on 5 November

General Section

New Regional Secretary: Paul Stevens. 19 members

Worldwide membership now at c. 759 members

Facebook pages (General, South Asia and US subpages) active

Website active and being further developed

Council 2016–7

Secretary General: Joe Cribb

Deputy Secretary-General: Stan Goron

Journal Editor: Robert Bracey

Secretary: Paramdip Khera

Treasurer: Ben Bream

Membership Secretary: Barbara Mears

Publications Secretary: Shailendra Bhandare

Regional Sectretaries (as listed elsewhere on this site)

Ordinary Members: David Hartill, Howard Simmons, Graham Byfield, Terry Hayes and Karan Singh.